My New Love- Korean Dramas

keep-calm-and-watch-kdrama-14I haven’t read a YA book in a while. Well..i have but none that made me go “WOAH! I NEED MORE”

What I HAVE been doing for the past 5-6 months (If anyone out there is interested to know :P) is watch K-dramas like my life depends on it.

Let me give you a little back story.

It all started with this anime i watched last summer called Hana Yori Dango. After watching the first episode, i knew i was a goner. It was love at first site!! I knew nothing would EVER be the same again. Why? Well, you really have to watch that anime to find out for yourself. Usually, the main female lead in an anime is a submissive, weak, clueless girl. But this chick Makino Tsukushi was absolutely BADASS. She didn’t shy away from screaming, hitting and putting Doumyouji Tsukasa, the insensitive rich jerk who bullied the weak in his rightful place.

After the series had ended, i felt a deep void. I had no idea what to do next. Naturally i watched more anime but I just couldn’t get Hana Yori Dango out of my head.

After joining college, a new mate of mine told me that Hana yori dango had a Korean live action adaptation called Boys Over Flowers which I was aware of since I was a huge fan of the anime. But according to her, this show was “filled with awesomeness” and “boys to drool over”.

BoF_wallpaper.png

Look how gorgeous they all are!!! ❤

After much deliberation, i decided to give it a try and dear lord, she was absolutely right. Watching Boys over Flowers was an absolute joy ride. I was so happy to see my most beloved characters come to life and Lee Min Ho’s portrayal of Tsukasa was on point.

Naturally, I couldn’t just leave it at that. I watched some of the more popular Korean Dramas such as Goong, You’re Beautiful, The Heirs just to name a few and then moved on to more recent dramas like Pinocchio, She Was Pretty, Reply 1988 etc.

I had been aware of how K-pop and Kdramas were gaining popularity outside of Korea but i never understood why until i began watching dramas and listening to K-pop. Apart from having adorable men and women as main leads, the stories themselves are such that you will inadvertently be able to relate to them. As an Indian teenager, i realized that i was able to connect with with the Korean teenager I was watching on my screen because the problems that we were facing weren’t very different. Korean shows also have a 16 to 20 episode format. It doesn’t have season and after season so its almost like a book. It has a definitive beginning, middle and an end. So basically you obsess with the show for 3-4 months and then you move on to another.

You would think that the language barrier would be a problem but there are dedicated people out there who work hard to make English subtitles so that people like me could watch the shows religiously without worrying about language problems.

My parents, brother and a lot of people don’t understand why I love Korean music and dramas so much. They think that its strange that i like it so much but these are the same people who love watching western TV shows and movies. One would argue that there is no language problem but the truth is that in our obsession with Western TV shows, movies and music, we tend to overlook what Asia has to offer. I was one of these people but im glad that I’ve begun to branch out. Overlooking the language barrier, one would realize that we aren’t very different from each other. We go through similar problems and have similar experiences regardless of which part of the world we live in.

So, my love for K-dramas will never fade but I’m going to try and read some YA books too. Cause i started this blog so I better see it through. So cheers to that and happy reading!

 

 

6 thoughts on “My New Love- Korean Dramas

  1. Lei T. says:

    I watched the Taiwanese version, Japanese version and Korean version of this and I love them all! I even went to the film locations of Boys Over Flowers (Korean version) in Macau because I was so hooked. I just love the fact that I’m learning other country’s culture just by watching their TV dramas. Have you seen “Fluttering India” ? It is a documentary about a group of Korean idols from different K-Pop bands who went to India for a few days and tried to get to know India better by immersing themselves into your culture) 🙂

    Like

    • amandaj19 says:

      Really!!?! That is soo cool! I wish I could do something like that haha.
      I’ve seen a bit of the Japanese live action. What’s the Taiwanese one like?
      Aaah yes! I have watched that. It was soo pointless but i had a good time watching it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lei T. says:

        I love to travel and check out drama locations when I had the chance, you should try it too. The Japanese live action has 2 parts and it also has a movie or special episode (I think). The Taiwanese version was so popular back then and I think that’s where it all started so they had remakes done 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kay says:

    I love reading about how others discover kdramas. Boys Over Flowers was my second kdrama, and yep, it was just about the most awesome thing ever! And it’s just the tip of the iceberg. Hopefully, you find some good reading time, but more importantly, lots of time to watch the ever growing amount of wonderful kdramas 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

