Book Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

22929578Title and Author: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Series: The Fixer #1

Shelves: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller 

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Published: 7th July 2015

Ratings: download


Summary: This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars. 

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.


Review: After being swamped by my university books for so long, I finally had time for leisure reading and I’m glad I chose this because I was sucked into the world created by Jennifer Barnes from page one.

“You’re telling me that my sister is a professional problem solver?” I asked tightly. “She just goes around, solving other people’s problems? How is that even an occupation?”
“Supply and demand?” Vivvie suggested. “Around here, we call them fixers.”

The Fixer tell us the story of Tess Kendrick who after living a quite life at her grandfather’s ranch is left with no choice but to move to D.C with her sister Ivy who she hasn’t seen or spoken to in three years. In DC, Ivy works as a professional problem solver for important political figures and when Tess joins Hardwicke, an elite school for the children of the rich and powerful, she soon realizes that the same is expected of her as well. Tess is an absolute badass. Shes strong, independent, incredibly smart and has a zero tolerance for bullying. She doesn’t intend to become a fixer but it soon becomes apparent that problem solving runs in the veins of the Kendrick sisters.

“Go away, Asher.”
“You say go away, I hear be my bosom buddy.”

Apart from Tess, even the other characters are very well rounded. Each and every character had an important part to play in shaping of the story and what I liked most was that all the characters had very different personalities. Tess’ group of friends included Vivie, who she becomes instant friends with at the very beginning, Asher, a troublemaker who seems to be everyone’s best friend, Emelia, Asher’s smart and resourceful twin and Henry, who doesn’t seem to like the Kendrick sisters very much.

The plot was absolutely terrific and intriguing!  Although it was a political thriller, a large theme of the book was centered around family and the relationship between Tess and Ivy. There were certain twist and turns that which would come as a shocker but unfortunately, I had already been suspecting them way before they were revealed. However, I’m sure I would have been completely blown away if i hadn’t been paying attention to little details. Another thing that I quite appreciated was the lack of romance. I like how the author felt that there was no need to throw romance into the mix as the mystery in itself was very engaging.

Final thoughts: The Fixer is an absolute page-turner. I really did enjoy reading it and I am definitely looking forward to book two!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Political hijinks and awesome characters, did I hear you say!? I am so there. I love watching Scandal so I think I need to investigate this title 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

